Sustainable Living Short Courses

Learn Permaculture Design, Organic Growing, Natural Building & Sustainable Eating alongside our full time Golden Bay Sustainable Living Course students. 
Spaces limited. First come. First served.

Click here for information on our one day workshop offerings.

Golden Bay Natural Building Course

Permaculture Design Certificate Courses 
 

We offer several permaculture design options.
  1. Full Golden Bay Sustainable Living Course.
  2. Golden Bay International Permaculture Design Certificate Course
  3. Permaculture Design Foundations - one day 
Permaculture Design group september 2019.jpg
 

Golden Bay International Permaculture Design Certificate Course

This course is perfect for Golden Bay locals who would like to get their PDC without the added costs of accommodation - making this the best deal PDC on the planet. 
This course covers the standard 2-week International Permaculture Design Certificate curriculum spread over 10 weeks with classes held 1 -3 days a week. It is ideal for people who cannot take 2-3 weeks off work. Taught by the best tutors in NZ in an integrated hands-on way, culminating in a comprehensive land-use design project, you need to register early to secure a spot on this popular course.

More about Permaculture Design.... 

permaculture design sara september 2021.JPG

Tutor: Robina McCurdy

Cost:  $1450 includes lunch on full days and gst. 

Date & Time:

Mon 7th March

11:00 - 4:00

Tues 8th March

9:00- 12:30, +

3:30 - 5:00

Thurs 10th March

8:45 - 5:00

Fri 11th March

8:45 - 5:00

Mon 14th March

8:45 - 5:00

Thurs 17th March

8:45 - 5:00

Fri 18th March

8:45 - 5:00

Mon 21st March 

8:45 - 5:00

Tues 22nd March

8:45 - 5:00

Tues 29th March 

8:45 - 5:00

Thurs 31st March

8:45 - 5:00

Tues 5th April

8:45 - 12:30

Thurs 7th April

1:30 - 5:00

Fri 8th April

8:45 - 5:00

Mon 11th April

8:45 - 5:00

Tues 12th April

8:45 - 5:00

Thurs 14th April

8:45 - 5:00
Friday 22nd April 

1:30 - 5:00

Tues 10th May

8:45 - 5:00

permaculture design september 2019.JPG
 
GroWise Organic Growing Certificate Course

 

Following the principles of healthy soil, healthy plants and healthy animals you’ll learn how to grow food that not only nurtures your Being but also helps heal the earth we live on. 

 

The organic growing module is brought to you by Sol Morgan, an experienced gardener and educator, husband and father, and course co-founder. 

Topics covered include organic principles & garden design, soil health and soil assessment, bed preparation and planting, plant knowledge, propagation and seed saving, pests and diseases and beneficial insects, fruit growing and propagation, tree planting and commercial horticulture.

 

By the end you will have deepened your awareness of how to work with natural ecosystems to create diverse, productive, healthy ecosystems.  Learn more...

Tutor: Sol Morgan

Cost:  $895 includes lunch on full days and gst. 

IMG-20210323-WA0017.jpg

Date & Time:

Tues 8th March

8:45 - 12:30

Tues 15th March

8:45 - 12:30

Fri 18th March

8:45 - 5:00

Tues 22nd March

8:45 - 5:00

Fri 25th March

8:45 - 5:00

Mon 28th March

1:30 - 5:00

Mon 4th April

8:45 - 12:30

Tues 5th April

8:45 - 5:00

Tues 26th April

8:45 - 5:00

Tues 3rd May 

8:45 - 5:00

Wed 4th May

8:45 - 12:30

Tues 10th May 

8:45 - 5:00

Fri 13th May

8:45 - 5:00

 
Sustainable Eating: Food Harvesting, Preserving & Preparation
 
From the garden to the table you will learn why food is our sustenance, our medicine and our fuel and how best we can work with the good food nature gives us.

 

Highlights:

  • the difference between raw food & cooked food for the body & health

  • different eating styles with meat, vegetarianism, veganism, their benefits and issues

  • skills in harvesting, prepping & cooking simple meals

  • the role of herbs in cooking and their benefits

  • how to measure and identify nutrient dense food

  • practical hands on food preserving

  • how to eat sustainably. 

Tutor: Kerryn Easterbrook

Cost: $225 includes lunch on full days & gst

Dates & Times:

Thurs 24th March

8:45 - 5:00

Wed 13th April

1:30 - 5:00

Wed 27th April

1:30 - 5:00

Fri 6th May

8:45 - 5:00

food prep web.JPG

Go on field trips to visit local restaurants, take part in the "The Great Debate" & explore sustainable food service businesses. See live presentations on preserving food in tasty forms like chutney, then make your own and create healthy sweet treats.

Natural Building Basics

This is an essentials version of our whole buidling course and focuses almost exclusively on building techniques with a session on alternative energy. Learn cob building, light earth and loose straw, building beautiful bottle walls, plastering techniques and explore alternative energy systems. 
Not covered: making earth bricks. 

 
NB making bricks.jpeg

Tutor: Rita Scholten

$340 includes lunch and gst. 4 full days

Dates & Times:

Mon 2nd May 8:45 - 5:00
Thursday May 5th 8:45 - 5:00
Friday May 6th 8:45 - 5:00
Mon 9th May  8:45 - 5:00

 

wattle and daub 2.jpeg
mudbricks 6.jpeg